Experimenting with Piezo Pro curves – and emulating classic Agfa papers

I’m new to Piezography, attracted to the Piezo Pro inkset because it should be possible to simulate or at least approximate the tones of some classic darkroom papers. IMO this is one of the important things the new inkset could accomplish.

My initial concern is to come close to (or ’remanufacture’?) Agfa Portriga Rapid and Brovira. For many photographers these were the gold/silver standard of the era when all darkroom papers were heavy on silver (though near the end of their lifespan the Agfa papers diminished in quality). Portriga was warm-toned, and Brovira was cool black with OBs. Both came in glossy (#111) and matte (#118) surfaces. For fine-art printing they were normally selenium toned for archival preservation. This was a light or diluted toning that increased permanence and made a slight but quite attractive change in the tone of the print. And I happen to have vintage prints and a well-preserved set of Zone System patches of Portriga to compare with inkjet output.

For a portfolio I’m printing with a vintage look, I want to emulate Portriga Rapid 118 (matte) on Hahnemuhle Photo Rag. The initial obstacle I encountered was the slight magenta cast of the Piezo Pro inkset. Portriga depended on more Y and/or R for the richness of its overall BW tone. Epson ABW Warm actually comes closer to Portriga than PPro, but PPro offers noticeably smoother tonal transitions. PPro presumably inclines to magenta because Y ink is more inclined to fade. The cast that initially bothered me resembled the IJM sample prints of K7 Special Edition and Selenium, whereas Portriga’s warmth looked more like the tones of K7 Neutral and Warm Neutral. I had to experiment to reduce this cast, which I could see at 5000K (but not at 6500).